top of page
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags

Guider Banquets: Good Fun & Good Food!


Never been to a Guider Banquet? You don't know what you are missing!

These fun Guiding sisterhood socials are a fun way to meet other leaders in an adult setting.

So, I made the drive, and attended by myself, wondering who I would sit with or if I would have anyone to talk to.

If you are concerned about not knowing anyone, don't be.

Once again, I was pleasantly surprised at how friendly everyone was. I met an amazing seasoned Guider in line for a drink. We started chatting, and sure enough she knew some Guiders that I knew....

I was invited to join their table. I sat with five ladies I had never met. That is when the fun began!

Group Games

There were a bunch of organized games that each table participated in. There were prizes and raffles. There was Guiding, camping, song and knot-tying trivia, bubble blowing games, musical hats and more.

We had beads, and you could steal someones beads if you said the word 'Girl'.

Throughout the evening items were called out, and the first Guider to rummage through her purse and deliver the items, such as: stamps, band-aids, pictures of cookies sales, and pennies, won a point for her table.

Our table came in second for purse items! Laughing the whole time, it was like we were old friends; even though we just met.

Did I mention the food?

Guiders are never off the clock!

Even at an adult event, Guiders were in the parking lot exchanging cans to make hobo-stoves, transferring cases of cookies, and trading SWAPS. It always amazes me how invested everyone is.

We all chatted about how our Guiding craft bin has become a Guiding craft room. How our living rooms are our Guiding offices, and our sheds and garages are filled with camp stoves and tents. We laughed in understanding, and asked what they had planned for their units next camp.

Amazing Event Organizer's

The volunteer organizer's for this event should be quite pleased with themselves. It was well-organized and appreciated by all that attended. A job well done!

All-in-all, it was a fun evening filled with laughs and full stomachs. I took lots of mental notes for activities, themes and ideas that were shared. I made some new friends, and had a lot of laughs.

If you have not attended a Guider banquet, go. You will not be disappointed. My biggest regret was not wearing stretchy pants!

Girl Guiding

Adventure Blog

bottom of page