top of page
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags

Guiding, Grace & God


Grace and God have been in my mind for a while, and I have see a lot of posts from other Guiders and Scouters recently resonating similar concerns.

Girl Guides of Canada and Scouts Canada are not considered Christian organization's, unlike other organizations, such as Scouts of America. We promote being inclusive, and have a mission to include all cultures, religious beliefs (including Atheist), races, sexual orientation and gender identities.

To be clear, I left organized religion a long time ago. I consider myself very spiritual, and have my own beliefs; but accept and respect everyone else's belief systems. I feel that 'religion' should stay at home, and not be preached or referenced at Guide and Scout meetings, but rather to encourage youth to stay true to their own beliefs.

So why am I writing this?

A few months ago I attended a Guiding social. Before our meal, an organizer had us all stand and say grace. Much to my surprise 'God' was referenced in the prayer. I looked around, and no one else seemed shocked!

Firstly, I find saying 'grace' is religious. I also find using the term 'God' the opposite of inclusive. Now don't get me wrong, I do not have an issue with giving thanks. Although, it is not something everyone does anymore.

The issue is the wording and language, not so much the message. The term 'God' is not in toto, and certainly excludes may people and beliefs.

I have observed that most Guider's have changed the lyrics in many songs. Johnny Apple seed is now sung: 'The World is good to me....' rather than 'The Lord is good to me...'

There are still Guider's I have heard say they still sing 'Taps' using God in the lyrics with their units, and refuse to change.

'Day is done, gone the sun; from the lakes, from the hills from the sky.

All is well, safely rest. Peace is nigh'.

Newsflash! Girl Guides of Canada changed the lyrics for taps Nationally quite a few years ago! Taps now has 'peace is nigh' instead of 'God is nigh'.

I read a Facebook post a few months back, where a Guider stated that is how she teaches her unit, and she would not change it. We are not asking you to give up your beliefs, but to sing it so everyone feels comfortable and included, and so it can reflect our diversity.

The point is to include all 'ism's'. Which leads me to my next point......promises, promises, promises........

I had been out of Guiding for many years. I still remember making my Brownie and Guide promises as a child; 'I promise to do my best, to God, the Queen and the Country...'

Needless to say I was pleasantly surprised when I returned to Guiding, that Girl Guides of Canada was progressive and inclusive enough to have changed the phrasing of the promise.

'I promise to do my best, to be true to myself, my beliefs and Canada..' The new promise is tantamount in it's message, but the terminology and nomenclature reflects the spirit of Guiding in today's diverse population.

So you can imagine, how disappointed I am with Scouts Canada for their archaic wording in the promise; 'I promise to do my best, to do my duty to God and the Queen...'.

A few weeks ago, my Scout Troop was discussing the promise. Synonymous to Guiding we will be hosting an investiture/enrollment in a few weeks where they will make their promise.

During our discussion about the meaning, many Scouts raised eyebrows when we referenced God and the Queen! I actually used the Guiding promise to discuss true meaning of the promise. We also had a good laugh when I told them we used to sing 'God Save the Queen' every morning at school when I was a kid!

Afterwards, my Co-Scouter and I noted how astute the youth were, and how each have their own beliefs and convictions. Might I add that my Co-Scouter is a very church-going believer.

Even she, feels like the phrasing needs to change to welcome all, so each Scout/Guide can develop their own beliefs, values and morals.

The issue is that people mistake being inclusive with giving up their own beliefs. This is much the same as confusing the terms acceptance and tolerance. They mean different things!

The essence of Guiding and Scouting is embracing the differences, acceptance of others, challenging yourself, building friendships and being true to yourself while respecting others.

Don't forget to like, comment and share!

Update:

Girl Guides of Canada has just sent Guider these wonderful tips about being inclusive during the holidays! Check it out!

Girl Guiding

Adventure Blog

bottom of page