top of page
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags

My Bucket List: Dog Sledding, CHECK!


I have a very long bucket list. It turns out that being a Guider is helping me check many of these items off; one event at a time!


I have always been an adventure seeker. I love to camp and learn new things. Get me outside and I am happy. The best thing is that parents expect me to be a big kid.


Sometimes I will ask the girls 'What do you think about doing.......'?


These girls are always quick to try something new. I have bold and adventurous girls.


This past weekend I organized a dog sledding event for my Guides. We had some Pathfinders join us and it was a great way to give the girls a unique adventure, all-the-while knocking another dream off of my bucket list.


We had almost twenty girls, some Guiders and a few parents who wanted to live an adventure.


I drive past a dog sledding outfitter quite often down one of our back roads. I decided to get in touch.


Getting In Touch


When I called I was greeted by a bilingual gentleman, who is the owner-operator of the outfit. I asked him about large groups and if he could host our Guide unit.


The owner and head guide Denis Rozon, has been dog sledding for forty years. He told me he started as a youth with his mother's dog team at about six years old. They would use the dog team to transport groceries to their cabin.


Since then he has won multiple medals and competitions as a musher!


So, I started asking him questions.


Denis answered every single one of my Safe Guide questions with patience. They are a fully insured service provider, and I was very impressed with how well organized and wonderful our event was.


In 2008, he opened Timberland Tours in Bristol, QC, about 45 minutes northwest of Ottawa.They host families and groups and run year round with winter dog sledding and dog pulled summer carts. They also have tee pees that can be rented for camps!


When Denis heard that I wanted to bring my Girl Guides, he was very excited. He is passionate about sledding and jumped at the opportunity to share his passion with our girls.


After we established all of our Safe Guide procedures, he offered us a discounted group rate!


The Big Day


The trails are large flat loops centered by pines. In the middle are walking trails where everyone who was not riding could see the group go by for photos.


We arrived and were given complete instruction on how to operate a sled. This guy has dealt with kids before! He drilled home the rules and safety.


The he brought us to the dogs. Most mushers do not use pure Huskies anymore and opt for the Eurohound, a mix of German Pointer, Greyhound and Alaskan Husky.


He then showed us how to harness the dogs and set us to work. This breed is friendlier than a typical husky, and faster. With almost twenty girls, they sure received a lot of love and cuddles!


After harnessing, Denis and his two guides checked all the dogs, and hooked them up to the line of five sleds. At this point it is loud. These dogs cannot contain their excitement that they are going for a run!


Denis leads, and we follow. The dogs are silent.


(Picture Right: One of my Super Star Guides with Owner Denis Rozon. She was a natural!)


We are followed by guides on a snow machine to aid if we get tangles or have problems.


We tour a couple of loops and wave for pictures, then stop at the next loop.


Girls and adults switch out. Some are passengers and some are drivers. This continues until everyone has had multiple turns.


Afterwards, Denis has hot chocolate waiting for us and grills up some hot dogs on a fire. I had also brought extra snacks, because I know how the girls fade away if they do not eat every five minutes.


We waited for parents to pick up our rosy cheeked girls and handed out our commemorative crests that we ordered from E-Patches & Crests.


What an experience!


Timberland Tours has thought of everything! It was much safer than I had anticipated, especially with a snow machine and other guides making sure everything was running smoothly.


Denis will work with your group to make it the best experience for you. You can arrive in the morning or afternoon for a three hour event. You will learn everything you need to know and he will work with your group. For example, if you only want to be a passenger or to have those that are heavy enough to hold the sled brake DRIVE! Most girls who were nine years old were large enough to drive.


The staff were always communicating to the Guiders about what to do or where to go...


Details


Timberland Tours boasts as mentioned above tee pees, outhouse, cabin with heater to warm toes, summer dog carting, winter dog sledding, an outdoor eating area, large parking area...


The are a fully insured Third Party Service Provider with Emergency Response Plans in place with local Emergency Services.


I was very impressed. I believe that amazing service and a wonderful experience deserves a shout out. Timberland made sure we were always safe, and had the time of our lives.


I am already working on planning an event for my Scouts and going back with my family.


I will have to work a bit harder to convince my husband to agree to more dogs and buying my own dog sled. But, I believe I will eventually persuade him. A Girl Guide never gives up!


Our Girl Guides also decided that this will become an annual event! I wonder what adventure we will do next?


If you have the opportunity if you are in the Outaouais (Gatineau/Ottawa) region, you need to go to Timberland Tours.


Tell Denis that Guider Tina sent you!


Timberland Tours

36, chemin Ragged Chute,

Bristol QC J0X 1G0

819-647-3185

Don't forget to like, comment and share!

Girl Guiding

Adventure Blog

bottom of page